​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Residential Foreclosure Mediation Program


Kane County Courthouse
100 S. 3rd Street, Room 432
Geneva, IL 60134

Program Coordinator

Kevin P. Malone
Resolution Systems Institute
Phone: 630-444-3128



Helpful Information
General Program Information

Welcome to the website for the Sixteenth Judicial Circuit Court Kane County Mandatory Residential Foreclosure Mediation Program. The foreclosure mediation program is designed to reduce the burden of expenses sustained by lenders, borrowers, and taxpayers as a result of residential mortgage foreclosures. It is also designed to aid the administration of justice by promoting judicial efficiency. Further, the program is aimed at keeping families in their homes if possible, to prevent vacant and abandoned houses in Kane County that negatively affect property values and de-stabilize neighborhoods.

This program was developed with collaboration among stakeholders in the foreclosure justice system, including local legal aid organizations, plaintiffs' attorneys, the Clerk of the Court, and the Sixteenth Judicial Circuit Court Administration. Special thanks to the Illinois Supreme Court through the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts for its guidance, and for the funding and support provided by the Kane County Board and Madam Chair Corinne Pierog, along with Resolution Systems Institute and the Office of the Illinois Attorney General. ​​

Mission Statement

Stabilizing homes in Kane County

Vision Statement

The Kane County Residential Foreclosure Mediation Program provides a unique opportunity to aid homeowners in crisis. Mediation is a process where a neutral third party, a trained mediator, helps borr​owers and lenders communicate to explore the options available to a homeowner, including possible loan modification. Homeowners in foreclosure will be given the opportunity to work with partnered HUD-certified housing counseling agencies to collect important information and prepare the necessary documents a lender may require. This program is free, confidential, and available to residential homeowners in Kane County.